Chemotherapy and Radiation Therapy Compared With Radiation Therapy Alone in Treating Patients With High-Risk Stage I, Stage II, or Stage III Endometrial Cancer

Official Title

Randomized Phase III Trial Comparing Concurrent Chemoradiation and Adjuvant Chemotherapy With Pelvic Radiation Alone in High Risk and Advanced Stage Endometrial Carcinoma: PORTEC-3

Summary:

Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as cisplatin, paclitaxel, and carboplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumour cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumour cells. Giving chemotherapy and radiation therapy after surgery may kill any tumour cells that remain after surgery. It is not yet known whether giving chemotherapy together with radiation therapy is more effective than giving radiation therapy alone in treating endometrial cancer.

This randomized phase III trial is studying chemotherapy and radiation therapy to see how well they work compared with radiation therapy alone in treating patients with high-risk, stage I, stage II, or stage III endometrial cancer.

Trial Description

Primary Outcome Measures:

  • Overall survival at 5 years
  • Failure-free survival at 5 years

Secondary Outcome Measures:

  • Quality of life by QLQ-C30 v3.0
  • Severe treatment-related morbidity
  • Rate of vaginal or pelvic relapse
  • Rate of distant metastases

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare the overall survival and failure-free survival of patients with high-risk stage IB-III endometrial carcinoma treated with concurrent chemoradiotherapy followed by adjuvant chemotherapy vs pelvic radiation therapy alone.

Secondary

  • Compare the rates of pelvic and distant recurrence, severe (grades 3 and 4) treatment-related toxicity, and quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a multicentre, prospective, open-label, randomized, controlled study. Patients are stratified according to participating group (Dutch Cooperative Gynecologic Oncology Group vs United Kingdom National Cancer Research Institute), type of surgery (total abdominal hysterectomy and bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy [TAH-BSO] vs TAH-BSO plus lymphadenectomy vs laparoscopically-assisted vaginal hysterectomy), stage (IB vs IC vs II vs III), and histological type (endometrioid carcinoma vs serous or clear cell carcinoma). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive cisplatin IV over 1-2 hours on days 1 and 22 and external-beam pelvic radiation therapy 5 days a week for up to 6 weeks. At least 3 weeks after completion of chemoradiotherapy, patients undergo adjuvant chemotherapy comprising paclitaxel IV over 3 hours and carboplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1. Adjuvant chemotherapy repeats every 3 weeks for up to 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • Arm II: Patients undergo external-beam pelvic radiation therapy as in arm I. In both arms, patients with cervical involvement undergo vaginal brachytherapy.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, completion of radiation therapy, completion of chemotherapy, at 6 months, and then once a year for 5 years.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed periodically for up to 10 years.

 

Reviewed by OCREB

View this trial on ClinicalTrials.gov

Interested in this trial?

Print this page and take it to your doctor to discuss your eligibilty and treatment options. Only your doctor can refer you to a clinical trial.

Resources

Canadian Cancer Society

These resources are provided in partnership with the Canadian Cancer Society

Chimiothérapie et radiothérapie comparativement à la radiothérapie seule dans le traitement de patientes atteintes d’un cancer de l’endomètre de stade I, II ou III à risque élevé

Titre officiel

Essai randomisé de phase III visant à comparer une chimioradiothérapie et une chimiothérapie adjuvante avec la radiothérapie pelvienne seule dans le traitement du carcinome de l’endomètre de stade avancé et à risque élevé : étude PORTEC-3

Sommaire:

Les médicaments utilisés pour la chimiothérapie, comme le cisplatine, le paclitaxel et le carboplatine, agissent de différentes façons pour stopper la multiplication des cellules cancéreuses, soit en les tuant soit en les empêchant de se diviser. La radiothérapie fait appel à des rayons X de haute énergie pour tuer les cellules tumorales. L’administration d’une chimiothérapie et d’une radiothérapie après la chirurgie pourrait permettre de tuer les cellules tumorales qui seraient demeurées dans l’organisme. On ignore encore si l’administration d’une chimiothérapie en concomitance avec une radiothérapie est plus efficace que la radiothérapie employée seule pour traiter le cancer de l’endomètre.

Cet essai randomisé de phase III vise à évaluer l’efficacité de l’association chimiothérapie et radiothérapie par rapport à la radiothérapie employée seule dans le traitement de patientes atteintes d’un cancer de l’endomètre de stade I, II ou III à risque élevé.

Description de l'essai

Critères d’évaluation primaires :

  • Survie globale à 5 ans.
  • Survie sans récidive à 5 ans.

Critères d’évaluation secondaires :

  • Qualité de vie mesurée par le questionnaire QLQ-C30 v3.0.
  • Morbidité sévère liée au traitement.
  • Taux de récidive vaginale ou pelvienne.
  • Taux de métastases à distance.

OBJECTIFS :

Primaire

  • Comparer la survie globale et la survie sans récidive chez des patientes atteintes d’un carcinome de l’endomètre de stade IB à III à risque élevé traitées au moyen d’une chimioradiothérapie suivie d’une chimiothérapie adjuvante vs une radiothérapie pelvienne seule.

Secondaire

  • Comparer le taux de récidive pelvienne, de récidive à distance, de toxicité grave (grades 3 et 4) liée au traitement et la qualité des vie des patientes traitées au moyen de ces schémas.

APERÇU : Il s’agit d’une étude comparative randomisée multicentrique, prospective et ouverte. Les patientes sont stratifiées selon le groupe participant (Dutch Cooperative Gynecologic Oncology Group vs United Kingdom National Cancer Research Institute), le type de chirurgie (hystérectomie abdominale totale et salpingo-oophorectomie bilatérale [TAH-BSO] vs TAH-BSO plus lymphadénectomie vs hystérectomie vaginale assistée par laparoscopie), le stade (IB vs IC vs II vs III) et le type histologique (carcinome endométrioïde vs carcinome séreux ou à cellules claires). Les patientes sont réparties au hasard dans l’un des deux groupes de traitement.

  • Groupe I : Les patientes reçoivent du cisplatine par voie intraveineuse (IV) pendant 1 à 2 heures les jours 1 et 22 et une radiothérapie pelvienne externe 5 jours par semaine, jusqu’à 6 semaines. Au moins 3 semaines après la fin de la chimioradiothérapie, les patientes sont soumises à une chimiothérapie adjuvante comportant du paclitaxel IV pendant 3 heures et du carboplatine IV pendant 1 heure le jour 1. La chimiothérapie adjuvante est répétée jusqu’à quatre fois, toutes les 3 semaines, en l’absence de progression de la maladie et d’effets toxiques inacceptables.
  • Groupe II : Les patientes subissent une radiothérapie pelvienne externe comme dans le groupe I. Dans les deux groupes, les patientes dont le col est envahi subissent une curiethérapie vaginale.

La qualité de vie est évaluée au début de l’étude, après la radiothérapie, après la chimiothérapie, après 6 mois, puis une fois par année par la suite pendant 5 ans.

Une fois le traitement à l’étude terminé, les patientes sont suivies périodiquement pendant une période allant jusqu’à 10 ans.

 

Revu par l’OCREB

Voir cet essai sur ClinicalTrials.gov

Intéressé(e) par cet essai?

Imprimez cette page et apportez-la chez votre médecin pour discuter de votre admissibilité à cet essai et des options de traitement. Seul votre médecin peut vous recommander pour un essai clinique.

Ressources

Société canadienne du cancer

Ces ressources sont fournies en partenariat avec Société canadienne du cancer