Stereotactic Radiosurgery or Whole-Brain Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Brain Metastases That Have Been Removed By Surgery

Official Title

A Phase III Trial of Post-Surgical Stereotactic Radiosurgery (SRS) Compared With Whole Brain Radiation Therapy (WBRT) for Resected Metastatic Brain Disease

Summary:

RATIONALE: Stereotactic radiosurgery may be able to send x-rays directly to the tumour and cause less damage to normal tissue. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x rays to kill tumour cells. It is not yet known whether stereotactic radiosurgery is more effective than whole-brain radiation therapy in treating patients with brain metastases that have been removed by surgery. PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial studies how well stereotactic radiosurgery works compared to whole-brain radiation therapy in treating patients with brain metastases that have been removed by surgery.

Trial Description

Primary Outcome:

  • Neurocognitive progression at 6 months post-radiation in patients who received SRS compared to patients who received WBRT
  • Overall survival
Secondary Outcome:
  • Local control of the surgical bed
  • Time to CNS failure in these patients
  • Quality-of-life at 6 months of these patients
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
  • To ascertain in patients with one to four brain metastases whether there is improved overall survival in patients who receive stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS) to the surgical bed compared to patients who receive whole-brain radiation therapy (WBRT).
  • To ascertain in patients with one to four brain metastases whether there is less neurocognitive progression at 6 months post-radiation in patients who receive SRS to the surgical bed compared to patients who receive WBRT. Secondary
  • To ascertain in patients with resected brain metastases whether there is improved quality-of-life (QOL) in patients who receive SRS to the surgical bed compared to patients who receive WBRT.
  • To ascertain in patients with one to four brain metastases whether there is equal longer time to central nervous system (CNS) failure (brain) in patients who receive SRS to the surgical bed compared to patients who receive WBRT.
  • To ascertain in patients with one to four brain metastases whether there is longer duration of functional independence in patients who receive SRS to the surgical bed compared to patients who receive WBRT.
  • To ascertain in patients with one to four brain metastases whether there is better long-term neurocognitive status in patients who receive SRS to the surgical bed compared to patients who receive WBRT.
  • To tabulate and descriptively compare the post-treatment adverse events associated with the interventions.
  • To evaluate local tumour bed recurrence at 6 months with post-surgical SRS to the surgical bed in comparison to WBRT.
  • To evaluate time to local recurrence with post-surgical SRS to the surgical bed in comparison to WBRT.
  • To evaluate if there is any difference in CNS failure patterns (local, distant, leptomeningeal) in patients who receive SRS to the surgical bed compared to patients who receive WBRT. Exploratory
  • To evaluate radiation changes in the limbic system that may correlate with neurotoxicity using brain MRI scans.
  • To determine whether Apo E (i.e., Apo E2, Apo E3, and Apo E4) genotyping may prove to be a predictor of radiation-induced neurocognitive decline (or neuroprotection).
  • To determine whether inflammatory markers (i.e., IL-1, IL-6, and TNF-α) may prove to be predictors of radiation-induced neurocognitive decline.
  • To determine whether oxidative stress biomarkers (i.e., protein carbonyl content, lipid hydroperoxides, and isoprostane levels) may prove to be predictors of radiation-induced neurocognitive decline.
  • To determine whether hormone and growth factors [i.e., glucocorticoids (e.g., cortisol), gonadal steroids (e.g., estradiol, testosterone, progesterone), growth hormone, human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG), insulin-like growth factor-1 (IGF-1), and neuronal growth factor (NGF)] may prove to be a predictor of radiation-induced neurocognitive decline.
OUTLINE:

This is a multicentre study. Patients are stratified according to age in years (< 60 vs ≥ 60), extracranial disease controlled (≤ 3 months vs > 3 months), number of pre-operative brain metastases (1 vs 2-4), histology (lung vs radioresistant [brain metastases from a sarcoma, melanoma, or renal cell carcinoma histology] vs other), and resection cavity maximal diameter (≤ 3 cm vs > 3 cm). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
  • Arm I: Patients undergo whole-brain radiation therapy (WBRT) once a day, 5 days a week, for approximately 3 weeks.
  • Arm II: Patients undergo stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS) using a gamma knife or a linear accelerator procedure. Serum, whole blood, and urine samples are collected at baseline and periodically during study for genetic markers, inflammatory markers, oxidative stress biomarkers, and hormone and growth factor studies by ELISA and other assays. Patients complete the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Brain (FACT-BR), the activities of daily living (ADLs), the Fatigue/Uniscale Assessment, and the Linear Analog Self Assessment (LASA) quality-of-life questionnaires at baseline and periodically during study. Neurocognitive functions, such as memory, verbal fluency, visual attention, executive function, and delayed memory, are also assessed. After completion of study therapy, patients are followed up periodically for 5 years.

View this trial on ClinicalTrials.gov

Interested in this trial?

Print this page and take it to your doctor to discuss your eligibilty and treatment options. Only your doctor can refer you to a clinical trial.

Resources

Canadian Cancer Society

These resources are provided in partnership with the Canadian Cancer Society

Radiochirurgie stéréotaxique ou radiothérapie du cerveau entier dans le traitement de patients porteurs de métastases cérébrales ayant fait l’objet d’une résection chirurgicale

Titre officiel

Essai de phase III pour comparer la radiochirurgie stéréotaxique à la radiothérapie du cerveau entier après une résection chirurgicale de métastases cérébrales

Sommaire:

JUSTIFICATION : La radiochirurgie stéréotaxique pourrait permettre de délivrer une dose de rayonnement directement à la tumeur et de moins léser les tissus normaux. La radiothérapie fait appel à des rayons X de haute énergie pour tuer les cellules tumorales. On ignore encore si la radiochirurgie stéréotaxique est plus efficace que la radiothérapie du cerveau entier dans le traitement de patients porteurs de métastases cérébrales ayant fait l’objet d’une résection chirurgicale. BUT : Cet essai randomisé de phase III vise à comparer l’efficacité de la radiochirurgie stéréotaxique à celle de la radiothérapie du cerveau entier dans le traitement de patients porteurs de métastases cérébrales ayant fait l’objet d’une résection chirurgicale.

Description de l'essai

Critère d’évaluation principal :

  • Progression neurocognitive 6 mois après la radiochirurgie stéréotaxique vs la radiothérapie du cerveau entier.
  • Survie globale.

Critères d’évaluation secondaires :

  • Contrôle local du lit chirurgical.
  • Délai avant l’échec du traitement du système nerveux central (SNC) chez ces patients.
  • Qualité de vie à 6 mois de ces patients.

OBJECTIFS :
Principaux

  • Évaluer chez des patients porteurs de une à quatre métastases cérébrales s’il y a amélioration de la survie globale après une radiochirurgie stéréotaxique du lit chirurgical vs une radiothérapie du cerveau entier.
  • Évaluer chez des patients porteurs de une à quatre métastases cérébrales si la progression neurocognitive est moindre 6 mois après une radiochirurgie stéréotaxique du lit chirurgical vs une radiothérapie du cerveau entier.

Secondaires

  • Évaluer chez des patients dont les métastases cérébrales ont fait l’objet d’une résection s’il y a amélioration de la qualité de vie après une radiochirurgie stéréotaxique du lit chirurgical vs une radiothérapie du cerveau entier.
  • Évaluer chez des patients porteurs de une à quatre métastases cérébrales si le délai avant l’échec du traitement du SNC (cerveau) sera plus long après une radiochirurgie stéréotaxique du lit chirurgical vs une radiothérapie du cerveau entier.
  • Évaluer chez des patients porteurs de une à quatre métastases cérébrales si la durée de l’autonomie fonctionnelle sera plus longue après une radiochirurgie stéréotaxique du lit chirurgical vs une radiothérapie du cerveau entier.
  • Évaluer chez des patients porteurs de une à quatre métastases cérébrales si le statut neurocognitif à long terme sera meilleur après une radiochirurgie stéréotaxique du lit chirurgical vs une radiothérapie du cerveau entier.
  • Présenter sous forme de tableau et comparer de façon descriptive les événements indésirables post-traitement associés aux interventions.
  • Évaluer s’il y a récidive locale au niveau du lit tumoral 6 mois après la radiochirurgie stéréotaxique du lit chirurgical vs la radiothérapie du cerveau entier post-chirurgicale.
  • Évaluer le délai avant la récidive locale après une radiochirurgie stéréotaxique du lit chirurgical vs une radiothérapie du cerveau entier post-chirurgicale.
  • Déterminer s’il y a des différences dans les profils d’échec du traitement du SNC (récidive locale, métastases à distance, leptoméningées) chez les patients traités par radiochirurgie stéréotaxique du lit chirurgical vs radiothérapie du cerveau entier.

Exploratoires  

  • Évaluer les modifications du système limbique après la radiothérapie qui pourraient être corrélées à une neurotoxicité au moyen de l’imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM) du cerveau.
  • Déterminer si le génotypage de l’Apo E (Apo E2, Apo E3 et Apo E4) pourrait permettre de prédire le déclin neurocognitif (ou la neuroprotection) radio-induit.
  • Déterminer si les marqueurs de l’inflammation (IL-1, IL-6 et TNF-α) pourraient s’avérer des prédicteurs du déclin neurocognitif radio-induit.
  • Déterminer si les biomarqueurs du stress oxydatif (contenu en groupements carbonyles des protéines, hydroperoxydes lipidiques et concentrations des isoprostanes) pourraient s’avérer des prédicteurs du déclin neurocognitif radio-induit.
  • Déterminer si les hormones et facteurs de croissance (glucocorticoïdes [p. ex. cortisol], stéroïdes gonadiques [p. ex. œstradiol, testostérone, progestérone], hormone de croissance, gonadotrophine chorionique humaine [hCG], facteur de croissance analogue à l’insuline-1 [IGF-1] et facteur de croissance nerveuse [NGF]) pourraient s’avérer des prédicteurs du déclin neurocognitif neuro-induit.

APERÇU

Il s’agit d’une étude multicentrique. Les patients sont stratifiés selon l’âge en années (< 60 vs ≥ 60), la maîtrise de la maladie extracrânienne (≤ 3 mois vs > 3 mois), le nombre de métastases cérébrales avant la chirurgie (1 vs 2-4), le type histologique (poumon vs radiorésistant [métastases cérébrales issues d’un sarcome, d’un mélanome ou d’un carcinome à cellules rénales] vs autre) et diamètre maximal de la cavité de résection (≤ 3 cm vs > 3 cm). Les patients sont répartis de façon aléatoire dans l’un des deux groupes de traitement.

  • Groupe I : Les patients subissent une radiothérapie du cerveau entier une fois par jour, 5 jours par semaine, pendant environ 3 semaines.
  • Groupe II : Les patients subissent une radiochirurgie stéréotaxique par scalpel gamma ou accélérateur linéaire. Des échantillons de sérum, de sang entier et d’urine sont recueillis en conditions basales puis régulièrement pendant l’analyse des marqueurs génétiques, des marqueurs de l’inflammation et des biomarqueurs de stress oxydatif et pendant l’étude (par ELISA et d’autres méthodes) des hormones et facteurs de croissance. Les patients remplissent différents questionnaires sur la qualité de vie : évaluation fonctionnelle du traitement du cancer-cerveau (Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Brain, FACT-BR), activités de la vie quotidienne, évaluation de la fatigue/échelle Uniscale et auto-évaluation au moyen d’une échelle analogique linéaire (Linear Analog Self Assessment, LASA) en conditions basales, puis régulièrement pendant l’étude. Les fonctions neurocognitives, telles la mémoire, la fluidité verbale, l’attention visuelle, la fonction exécutive et la mémoire différée, sont aussi évaluées. Une fois le traitement à l’étude terminé, les patients font l’objet d’un suivi périodique pendant 5 ans.

Voir cet essai sur ClinicalTrials.gov

Intéressé(e) par cet essai?

Imprimez cette page et apportez-la chez votre médecin pour discuter de votre admissibilité à cet essai et des options de traitement. Seul votre médecin peut vous recommander pour un essai clinique.

Ressources

Société canadienne du cancer

Ces ressources sont fournies en partenariat avec Société canadienne du cancer