Evaluation of Afatinib in Maintenance Therapy in Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Head and Neck (BIBW2992ORL)

Official Title

A Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Phase III Study, to Evaluate the Efficacy of Afatinib (BIBW2992) in Maintenance Therapy After Post- Operative Radio-chemotherapy in Squamous-cell Carcinoma of the Head and Neck: GORTEC 2010-02

Summary:

The purpose of this study is to evaluate the efficacy and safety of Afatinib in maintenance therapy after post-operative radiochemotherapy (66 Gy and Cisplatin at the dose of 100mg/m2 every 3 weeks)in squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck.

Trial Description

Primary Outcome Measures:

  • Disease Free Survival 2 years after the end of radiotherapy
Secondary Outcome Measures:
  • Safety profile
  • Quality of life
  • Overall Survival (OS)

The reference treatment for operated squamous cell carcinoma of the head and the neck is a radiochemotherapy with Cisplatin (in the dose of intravenous 100 mg / m2 IV) every 3 weeks).

The Receptor of EGFR (Epidermal Growth Factor) or REGF is a membrane receptor; it's activation leads the cellular growth and inhibits apoptotic capacities. This receptor is overexpressed in numerous solid tumors, including ENT tumors. Several clinical studies showed that an over expression of the REGF in ENT tumors was a dominant factor of poor prognostic.

Afatinib (BIBW2992) is a strong and irreversible inhibitor of the EGFR ( type 1 human epidermic growth factor receptor, also known as HER1) and of the HER2 (human epidermal growth factor receptor 2).

Currently, 3 phase III clinical studies in postoperative situation and using an anti-REGF are in progress: 2 in concomitant situation with the radiotherapy and 1 both in concomitance and in adjuvant therapy with radiotherapy.

The preliminary results of a phase II study show that Afatinib is efficient in patients with local or metastatic relapse of a squamous cell carcinoma of the sphere ENT after a first line with Cisplatin and its tolerance is correct.

These data lead us to propose in post-operative situation, in patients with a squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck, a radiochemotherapy with Cisplatin followed by a treatment of maintenance by Afatinib or by placebo.

View this trial on ClinicalTrials.gov

Interested in this trial?

Print this page and take it to your doctor to discuss your eligibilty and treatment options. Only your doctor can refer you to a clinical trial.

Resources

Canadian Cancer Society

These resources are provided in partnership with the Canadian Cancer Society

Évaluation de l'afatinib comme traitement d'entretien pour traiter un carcinome squameux de la tête et du cou (BIBW2992ORL)

Titre officiel

Une étude de phase III à double insu et à répartition aléatoire contrôlée par placebo pour évaluer l'efficacité de l'afatinib (BIBW2992) comme traitement d'entretien après une radiochimiothérapie postopératoire pour traiter un carcinome squameux de la tête et du cou : GORTEC 2010-02

Sommaire:

L'objectif de cette étude consiste à évaluer l'efficacité et l'innocuité de l'afatinib comme traitement d'entretien après une radiochimiothérapie postopératoire (66 Gy et cisplatine à une dose de 100 mg/m² toutes les 3 semaines) pour traiter un carcinome squameux de la tête et du cou.

Description de l'essai

Critère d’évaluation principal :

  • Survie sans maladie 2 ans après la fin de la radiothérapie

Critères d’évaluation secondaires :

  • Profil d'innocuité
  • Qualité de vie
  • Survie globale (SG) 

Le traitement de référence pour le carcinome squameux de la tête et du cou est la radiochimiothérapie en combinaison avec le cisplatine (en doses intraveineuses de 100 mg/m² IV toutes les 3 semaines).

Le récepteur du facteur de croissance épidermique (EGF) est un récepteur membranaire; son activation entraîne la croissance cellulaire et inhibe les capacités apoptotiques. Ce récepteur est surexprimé dans de nombreuses tumeurs solides, notamment les tumeurs des oreilles, du nez et de la gorge. De nombreuses études cliniques ont démontré qu'une surexpression de l'EGF dans les tumeurs des oreilles, du nez et de la gorge constituait un facteur dominant d'un mauvais pronostic.

L'afatinib (BIBW2992) est un inhibiteur puissant et irréversible de l'EGFR (récepteur du facteur de croissance épidermique humain de type 1, aussi connu comme le HER1) et du HER2 (récepteur du facteur de croissance épidermique humain de type 2).

Actuellement, trois études cliniques de phase III en situation postopératoire et utilisant l'anti-EGF sont en cours : deux en situation concomitante avec la radiothérapie et une avec un traitement concomitant et un traitement adjuvant avec la radiothérapie.

Les résultats préliminaires d'une étude de phase II indiquent que l'afatinib est efficace chez les patients connaissant une rechute locale ou métastatique d'un carcinome squameux des oreilles, du nez ou de la gorge après un traitement de première ligne de cisplatine et que sa tolérance est correcte.

Ces données nous amènent à proposer une situation postopératoire chez les patients atteints d'un carcinome squameux de la tête et du cou, soit une radiochimiothérapie avec le cisplatine suivie d'un traitement d'entretien d'afatinib ou de placebo.

Voir cet essai sur ClinicalTrials.gov

Intéressé(e) par cet essai?

Imprimez cette page et apportez-la chez votre médecin pour discuter de votre admissibilité à cet essai et des options de traitement. Seul votre médecin peut vous recommander pour un essai clinique.

Ressources

Société canadienne du cancer

Ces ressources sont fournies en partenariat avec Société canadienne du cancer