Prophylactic Antibiotic Regimens in Tumour Surgery (PARITY)

Official Title

Prophylactic Antibiotic Regimens in Tumour Surgery (PARITY): A Multi-Centre International Randomized Controlled Trial Comparing Alternative Antibiotic Regimens in Patients Undergoing Tumour Resections With Endoprosthetic Replacements

Summary:

The Prophylactic Antibiotic Regimens in Tumour Surgery (PARITY) trial is the first ever international multi-centre randomized controlled trial in bone cancer surgery. In order to avoid amputation for bone cancer in the leg, complex limb-saving operations are performed. However, infections with devastating complications following surgery are common. Surgeons from across the world will randomize patients to receive either short- or long-duration antibiotic regimens after surgery with the goal of identifying the best regimen to reduce these infections.

Trial Description

Primary Outcome:

  • Surgical Site Infections
Secondary Outcome:
  • Functional Outcome and Quality of Life
  • Antibiotic-Related Complications
  • Rate of Re-Operation
  • Oncologic Recurrence and/or Metastases
  • Mortality
Long-bone sarcomas were historically managed with amputation. In the current era of osteosarcoma management, amputations are generally avoided by complex surgeries in which the malignancy is removed and the limb is reconstructed with advanced surgical techniques. This process of limb salvage is possible with improvements in chemotherapeutic regimens, advanced imaging techniques and surgical innovations such as modular metallic implants. However, the risk for surgical complications is high due to the complexity of the surgeries themselves. The most common and devastating complication is a surgical site infection. Background work and data from our pilot study indicates that infection rates approach 15%. Multiple surgical attempts at eradication of the infection fail in 50% of these cases, resulting in amputation. Published guidelines for post-operative antibiotic prophylaxis following many standard and less complex elective surgical procedures dictate that prophylactic antibiotics be discontinued after 24 hours. However, the most effective duration of treatment in sarcoma surgery has not previously been examined. Given the limitations of the evidence, it has not been possible for orthopaedic oncologists to draw firm conclusions and, therefore, clinical practice is highly varied, particularly with respect to antibiotic duration. Our international, multi-centre randomized controlled trial will determine whether a 5-day regimen of post-operative prophylactic antibiotics in comparison to a standard 24-hour regimen decreases the rate of surgical site infections after limb salvage surgery within 1-year follow-up.

View this trial on ClinicalTrials.gov

Interested in this trial?

Print this page and take it to your doctor to discuss your eligibilty and treatment options. Only your doctor can refer you to a clinical trial.

Resources

Canadian Cancer Society

These resources are provided in partnership with the Canadian Cancer Society

Régimes posologiques d’antibiotiques prophylactiques pour les chirurgies visant à retirer une tumeur (PARITY)

Titre officiel

Régimes posologiques d’antibiotiques prophylactiques pour les chirurgies visant à retirer une tumeur (PARITY) : étude internationale, multicentrique, randomisée et contrôlée comparant d’autres traitements d’antibiotiques possibles pour les patients qui subissent une résection de tumeur avec remplacements endoprothétiques

Sommaire:

L’étude sur les régimes posologiques d’antibiotiques prophylactiques pour les chirurgies visant à retirer une tumeur (PARITY) est le premier essai clinique international, multicentrique, randomisé et contrôlé se rapportant à la chirurgie pour traiter un cancer des os. Des chirurgies complexes sont effectuées dans le but d’éviter l’amputation d’une jambe atteinte du cancer des os. Cependant, il n’est pas rare que ces chirurgies soient suivies de complications dévastatrices dues à une infection. Des chirurgiens du monde entier répartiront aléatoirement des patients entre des régimes d’antibiotiques à court ou à long terme après une chirurgie, de manière à déterminer le meilleur régime pour réduire ces infections.

Description de l'essai

Critère de jugement principal : 

  • Infections du site opératoire

Critère de jugement secondaire :

  • Résultat fonctionnel et qualité de vie
  • Complications associées aux antibiotiques
  • Taux de réintervention
  • Récurrence oncologique ou métastases
  • Mortalité

Historiquement, les sarcomes atteignant les os longs étaient traités par amputation. De nos jours, pour traiter l’ostéosarcome, les amputations sont généralement évitées par des chirurgies complexes qui permettent de retirer les malignités et de reconstruire le membre avec des techniques chirurgicales de pointe. Le fait de pouvoir sauver le membre est possible grâce à l’amélioration des régimes de chimiothérapie, aux techniques d’imagerie avancées et aux innovations chirurgicales comme les implants modulaires métalliques. Cependant, les chirurgies, en raison de leur complexité, présentent un haut risque de complications. La complication la plus commune et la plus dévastatrice est une infection du site opératoire. Les travaux préparatoires et les données de notre étude pilote montrent que le taux d’infection approche les 15 %. Dans 50 % de ces cas, les tentatives multiples d’éradication chirurgicales de l’infection échouent et se terminent par une amputation. Les lignes directrices publiées concernant l’utilisation postopératoire de l’antibioprophylaxie pour plusieurs interventions chirurgicales électives moins complexes et standard prescrivent l’arrêt de la prise d’antibiotiques prophylactiques après 24 heures. Cependant, la durée de traitement la plus efficace après une chirurgie du sarcome n’a pas encore été étudiée. Compte tenu du peu de données disponibles, les oncologues orthopédiques ne sont pas en mesure de tirer des conclusions solides et, par conséquent, la pratique clinique est plutôt variée, surtout en ce qui a trait à la durée de la prise d’antibiotiques. Notre étude internationale, multicentrique, randomisée et contrôlée permettra de déterminer si un régime posologique d’antibiotiques prophylactiques suivi pendant 5 jours à la suite d’une opération, comparativement au traitement standard de 24 heures, diminue le taux d’infection du site opératoire après une intervention visant à sauver un membre sur une période de suivi d’un an.

Voir cet essai sur ClinicalTrials.gov

Intéressé(e) par cet essai?

Imprimez cette page et apportez-la chez votre médecin pour discuter de votre admissibilité à cet essai et des options de traitement. Seul votre médecin peut vous recommander pour un essai clinique.

Ressources

Société canadienne du cancer

Ces ressources sont fournies en partenariat avec Société canadienne du cancer