Randomized, Open-label, Two-arms, Phase III Comparative Study Assessing the Role of Involved Mediastinal Radiation Therapy After Rituximab Containing Chemotherapy Regimens to Patients With Newly Diagnosed Primary Mediastinal Large B-Cell Lymphoma

Official Title

IELSG37: A Randomized, Open-label, Multicentre, Two-arm Phase III Comparative Study Assessing the Role of Involved Mediastinal Radiation Therapy After Rituximab Containing Chemotherapy Regimens to Patients With Newly Diagnosed Primary Mediastinal Large B-Cell Lymphoma (PMLBCL)

Summary:

Primary mediastinal large B cell lymphoma is treated with a combination of chemotherapy and the monoclonal antibody rituximab (chemoimmunotherapy). Following chemoimmunotherapy patients receive radiation therapy if they have residues which may be active tumour. However at the end of chemoimmunotherapy the majority of patients show tissue scarring that is not necessarily active tumour. In recent years, PET/CT has proved to be a good tool to accurately identify active tumour from scar tissue in patients treated for mediastinal lymphoma.The purpose of this trial is to test whether radiation therapy is really necessary in patients where PET/CT has shown that the tumour is no longer active. Therefore we will compare radiation treatment with careful observation. Patients that at the end of conventional treatment of chemoimmunotherapy have a negative PET/CT (i.e., without residues suspected to contain active tumour), will randomly assigned to two different treatment groups: one treatment group will receive the radiation treatment, and the other treatment group will receive careful observation. The trial is planned according to a non-inferiority design aimed at demonstrating that progression free survival after the experimental treatment (observation) is not worse than after the standard comparator (mediastinal irradiation.Participation in this study could spare patients with complete remission at the end of chemo immunotherapy (PET/CT negative) radiation therapy that may be unnecessary.

Trial Description

Primary Outcome:

  • Progression free survival (PFS)
Secondary Outcome:
  • Overall survival (OS)

View this trial on ClinicalTrials.gov

Interested in this trial?

Print this page and take it to your doctor to discuss your eligibilty and treatment options. Only your doctor can refer you to a clinical trial.

Resources

Canadian Cancer Society

These resources are provided in partnership with the Canadian Cancer Society

Randomized, Open-label, Two-arms, Phase III Comparative Study Assessing the Role of Involved Mediastinal Radiation Therapy After Rituximab Containing Chemotherapy Regimens to Patients With Newly Diagnosed Primary Mediastinal Large B-Cell Lymphoma

Titre officiel

IELSG37: A Randomized, Open-label, Multicentre, Two-arm Phase III Comparative Study Assessing the Role of Involved Mediastinal Radiation Therapy After Rituximab Containing Chemotherapy Regimens to Patients With Newly Diagnosed Primary Mediastinal Large B-Cell Lymphoma (PMLBCL)

Sommaire:

Le lymphome médiastinal primaire à grandes cellules B est traité avec une association de chimiothérapie et du rituximab, anticorps monoclonal (chimio-immunothérapie). Après la chimio-immunothérapie, les patients subissent une radiothérapie s'ils présentent des résidus susceptibles d'être une tumeur active. Toutefois, au terme de la chimio-immunothérapie, la grande majorité des patients présente une cicatrisation tissulaire qui n'est pas nécessairement une tumeur active. Depuis quelques années, la TEP/TO s'est révélée comme un bon outil qui identifie exactement la tumeur active à partir du tissu cicatriciel chez les patients traités pour le lymphome médiastinal. Le but de cet essai est de tester si la radiothérapie est réellement nécessaire pour le traitement des patients où la TEP/TO a démontré que la tumeur n'est plus active. Par conséquent, nous étudierons la radiothérapie avec minutie. Les patients dont la TEP/TO sera négative (c'est-à-dire sans résidus soupçonnés de contenir une tumeur active) à la fin du traitement conventionnel seront répartis au hasard dans deux groupes d'étude différents : l'un des groupes d'étude sera traité par radiothérapie, tandis que l'autre sera observé minutieusement. L'essai est planifié selon un modèle de non-infériorité visant à démontrer que le taux de survie sans progression de la maladie après le traitement expérimental (observation) n'est pas pire que celui que l'on obtient après le comparateur standard (irradiation médiastinale). La participation à cette étude pourrait épargner les patients en stade de rémission complète au terme de la radiothérapie par chimio-immunothérapie (TEP/TO négative) qui pourrait être inutile.

Description de l'essai

Primary Outcome:

  • Progression free survival (PFS)
Secondary Outcome:
  • Overall survival (OS)

Voir cet essai sur ClinicalTrials.gov

Intéressé(e) par cet essai?

Imprimez cette page et apportez-la chez votre médecin pour discuter de votre admissibilité à cet essai et des options de traitement. Seul votre médecin peut vous recommander pour un essai clinique.

Ressources

Société canadienne du cancer

Ces ressources sont fournies en partenariat avec Société canadienne du cancer