Management of Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer With Oligometastases

Official Title

The Role of Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy in the Management of Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer With Oligometastases: An Adaptive Phase II/III Randomized Trial.

Summary:

This adaptive phase II/III randomized trial is designed to demonstrate that eradication of oligometastases by SBRT is a promising and emerging way to delay disease progression and postpone second line systemic therapies in castration-resistant prostate cancer (CRPC) patients. Only CRPC patients with an oligometastatic recurrence will be eligible to take part in this trial. All participating patients will receive either the standard of care (i.e. LHRH agonist in combination with the new generation of hormonal therapy [Enzalutamide]) or the experimental treatment (i.e. LHRH agonist in combination with the new generation of HT [Enzalutamide] plus the additional SBRT treatment). The patients will undergo different evaluations before treatment, such as imaging to confirm oligometastatic recurrence and blood tests. Patients will be stratified according to the location of metastasis (visceral [with or without bone metastases] vs. bone metastases alone) and PSA doubling time (≤ 3 vs. > 3 months). As per the standard of care, patients will have PSA testing performed every 6-12 weeks and re-imaging at 6, 9, 12, 18 and 24 months or at PSA progression, whichever occurs first.

Trial Description

Primary Outcome:

  • Radiographic Progression-free Survival
Secondary Outcome:
  • Quality of Life
  • Quality of Life - Fatigue
  • Quality of Life - Pain
  • Toxicity
  • Prostate Cancer Specific Survival
  • Time to Skeletal-related Event
  • Overall Survival
  • Local Control
  • Time to Systemic Antineoplastic Therapy
  • PSA response
  • Predictive Value of Biomarkers
Prostate cancer (PCa) is the most common type of cancer to affect men and, unfortunately, for the majority of PCa patients, death is attributed to metastatic disease. Lifelong androgen deprivation therapy (ADT) with LHRH agonists can help delay cancer progression in metastatic PCa patients. However, patients eventually become castration-resistant (disease progression despite ADT) and develop progressive metastatic disease. This in turn impacts the patient's quality of life and survival. Recently, a new generation of hormonal therapy (such as Enzalutamide) has become available to these castration-resistant prostate cancer (CRPC) patients. We believe that the benefits from this new generation of hormonal therapy can be prolonged in CRPC patients who develop oligometastases by treating the metastatic lesions using stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT). This new radiation technique allows for the treatment of many different metastases throughout the body in a very precise manner. This metastases-directed therapy is a new treatment option for patients with a limited number of metastases (less than 5) at the time of recurrence.

This adaptive phase II/III randomized trial is designed to demonstrate that eradication of oligometastases by the new technique SBRT is a promising and emerging way to delay disease progression and to postpone second line systemic therapies. Only patients with an oligometastatic recurrence after local treatment with curative intent will be eligible to take part in this trial. All participating CRPC patients with oligometastases will receive either the standard of care (i.e. LHRH agonist in combination with the new generation of hormonal therapy [Enzalutamide]) or the experimental treatment (i.e. LHRH agonist in combination with the new generation of HT [Enzalutamide] plus the additional SBRT treatment). The patients will undergo different evaluations before treatment, such as imaging to confirm oligometastatic recurrence and blood tests. Patients will be stratified according to the location of metastasis (visceral [with or without bone metastases] vs. bone metastases alone) and PSA doubling time (≤ 3 vs. > 3 months). As per the standard of care, patients will have PSA testing performed every 6-12 weeks and re-imaging at 6, 9, 12, 18 and 24 months or at PSA progression, whichever occurs first.

The primary objective of this study will be to evaluate the radiographic progression-free survival. We also want to determine the time to the start of second line systemic therapy, the prostate-cancer specific survival, the overall survival as well as to assess the quality of life, the toxicity and the PSA response. This study is the first randomized study in this setting and will employ a randomized phase II design to determine if a larger scale phase III trial is needed, thus the phase II/III design. The Phase II will consist of 130 CRPC patients with oligometastases, and the phase III will consist of the already randomized 130 patients plus an estimated 244 patients for a total sample size of 374 patients. This study will be conducted through the Genitourinary Radiation Oncology Group of Quebec (GROUQ) in different radiation oncology centres across Canada and the recruitment should be completed within 30 months of activation.

View this trial on ClinicalTrials.gov

Interested in this trial?

Print this page and take it to your doctor to discuss your eligibilty and treatment options. Only your doctor can refer you to a clinical trial.

Resources

Canadian Cancer Society

These resources are provided in partnership with the Canadian Cancer Society

Gestion de cancer oligométastatique de la prostate résistant à la castration

Titre officiel

La radiothérapie stéréotactique dans la gestion de cancer oligométastatique de la prostate résistant à la castration : un essai adaptatif de phase II/III à répartition aléatoire.

Sommaire:

Cet essai adaptatif de phase II/III à répartition aléatoire est conçu pour démontrer que l'éradication des oligométastases par radiothérapie stéréotactique représente un moyen prometteur et émergent de ralentir la progression de la maladie et de repousser les thérapies systémiques de deuxième ligne chez des patients atteints de cancer résistant à la castration. Seuls les patients souffrant de cancer résistant à la castration avec récidive oligométastatique pourront participer à cette étude. Tous les participants recevront soit des soins standard (p. ex., un agoniste de la  LHRH [hormone de libération de l'hormone lutéinisante] combiné à une hormonothérapie de nouvelle génération [enzalutamide]) soit le traitement expérimental (p. ex., un agoniste de la LHRH [hormone lutéinisante] combiné à une hormonothérapie de nouvelle génération [enzalutamide] plus le traitement additionnel de radiothérapie stéréotactique). Les patients se soumettront à différentes évaluations avant le traitement, comme l'imagerie, afin de confirmer la récidive oligométastatique et à des analyses sanguines. Les patients seront répartis selon l'emplacement des métastases (viscéral [avec ou sans métastases osseuses] versus  métastases osseuses seulement) et le temps de doublement du PSA (≤ 3 vs > 3 mois). Conformément aux normes en matière de soins, les patients seront soumis à des tests de PSA toutes les 6 à 12 semaines et à une autre imagerie au cours des mois 6, 9, 12, 18 et 24 ou en fonction de la progression de PSA, selon la première éventualité.

Description de l'essai

Critère d'évaluation principal :

  • survie sans progression sur le plan radiographique.

Critères d'évaluation secondaires :

  • qualité de vie;
  • qualité de vie - fatigue;
  • qualité de vie - douleur;
  • toxicité;
  • survie propre au cancer de la prostate;
  • durée des complications squelettiques;
  • survie globale
  • contrôle local;
  • durée du traitement antinéoplasique systémique;
  • réponse au test PSA;
  • valeur prédictive des biomarqueurs.

Le cancer de la prostate est le cancer le plus commun chez les hommes et, malheureusement, pour la majorité des patients atteints, le décès est attribuable à une maladie métastatique. Un traitement antiandrogénique avec antagonistes de LHRH peut aider à retarder la progression du cancer chez les patients souffrant d'un cancer métastatique de la prostate. Les patients peuvent cependant finir par être résistants à la castration (progression de la maladie malgré le traitement antiandrogénique) et développer une maladie métastatique progressive. Ce revirement nuit à la qualité de vie et à la survie du patient. Une hormonothérapie de nouvelle génération (comme l'enzalutamide) est récemment devenue disponible aux patients souffrant d'un cancer de la prostate présentant une résistance à la castration. Nous croyons que les bienfaits de cette hormonothérapie de nouvelle génération peuvent être étendus aux patients souffrant d'un cancer de la prostate présentant une résistance à la castration qui ont développé des oligométastases en raison de la radiothérapie stéréotactique utilisée pour traiter leurs lésions métastatiques. Cette nouvelle technique de radiation permet de traiter différentes métastases dans tout le corps de manière très précise. Cette thérapie ciblant les métastases est une nouvelle option de traitement pour les patients présentant un nombre limité de métastases (moins de 5) lors de la récidive.

Cet essai adaptatif de phase II/III à répartition aléatoire est conçu pour démontrer que l'éradication des oligométastases par radiothérapie stéréotactique représente un moyen prometteur et émergeant de ralentir la progression de la maladie et de repousser les thérapies systémiques de deuxième ligne chez des patients atteints de cancer résistant à la castration. Seuls les patients présentant une récidive oligométastatique après avoir suivi un traitement local dans un but curatif pourront prendre part à cet essai. Tous les patients souffrant de cancer résistant à la castration recevront soit des soins standard (p. ex., un agoniste de la  LHRH [hormone de libération de l'hormone lutéinisante] combiné à une hormonothérapie de nouvelle génération [enzalutamide]) soit le traitement expérimental (p. ex., un agoniste de la LHRH [hormone lutéinisante] combiné à une hormonothérapie de nouvelle génération [enzalutamide] plus le traitement additionnel de radiothérapie stéréotactique). Les patients se soumettront à différentes évaluations avant le traitement, comme l'imagerie afin de confirmer la récidive oligométastatique et à des analyses sanguines. Les patients seront répartis selon l'emplacement des métastases (viscéral [avec ou sans métastases osseuses] versus  métastases osseuses seulement) et le temps de doublement du PSA (≤ 3 vs > 3 mois). Conformément aux normes en matière de soins, les patients seront soumis à des tests de PSA toutes les 6 à 12 semaines et à une autre imagerie au cours des mois 6, 9, 12, 18 et 24 ou en fonction de la progression de PSA, selon la première éventualité.

Le principal objectif de cette étude est d'évaluer la survie sans progression radiographique. Nous souhaitons également déterminer le moment auquel commencer la thérapie systémique de deuxième ligne, la survie propre au cancer de la prostate, la survie globale et évaluer la qualité de vie, la toxicité et la réponse au test PSA. Cette étude est la première étude à répartition aléatoire dans ce contexte et s'appuiera sur un concept à répartition aléatoire de phase II pour déterminer si un essai de phase III à plus grande échelle est nécessaire, et donc avoir un concept de phase III. La phase II sera composée de 130 patients souffrant de cancer résistant à la castration avec oligométastases, et la phase III regroupera 130 patients déjà soumis à la répartition aléatoire, plus 244 patients estimés, soit un total de 374 personnes. Cette étude sera menée par le Genitourinary Radiation Oncology Group of Quebec (GROUQ) dans différents centres de radio-oncologie; le recrutement devrait être achevé dans les 30 mois suivant son activation.

Voir cet essai sur ClinicalTrials.gov

Intéressé(e) par cet essai?

Imprimez cette page et apportez-la chez votre médecin pour discuter de votre admissibilité à cet essai et des options de traitement. Seul votre médecin peut vous recommander pour un essai clinique.

Ressources

Société canadienne du cancer

Ces ressources sont fournies en partenariat avec Société canadienne du cancer